Korean Pop! Also known as K-Pop! Also known as the greatest thing since… ELVIS. Okay, maybe they are completely different.

The past six months have taught me many things:

The skill of using chopsticks. Kimchi, no matter what form it comes in, is not good. Never take the subway between 6 and 7 pm. Koreans really do like all food spicy. Sarcasm doesn’t exist in Korean society. Talking loudly will get you “shh’ed” on the subway. Talking period will get you “shh’ed” on the subway. People will never stop staring at you. People will never stop invading your bubble, then again in Seoul, there really isn’t room to have a bubble. Korean dramas are the greatest thing ever invented… and finally, I have fallen in love with Korean Pop (known affectionately here as: K-Pop).

Yes, yes I said it. Korean pop is, “totally awesome”. And once I began to educate myself on the ways of the pop world here and threw out names of popular bands during English class, my students looked upon me with awe, I became… ‘cool’! That being said they are still asking me if I know this band or that and I must say, Korea has more pop bands than they have bags of rice.

Yes, this is one group.

At times I feel like I finally have  a grasp, “Yes, I know Super Junior (13 member boy group pictured above), 2ne1, Rain, Wondergirls, Brown-Eyed Girls, 4minute, BigBang, 2PM, Girls Generation and Cara!”

“Teacher, you know Beast? You know Shinee? You know 2 AM? You know Rainbow?”

“Wait, there is a 2PM AND a 2AM? What?!”

All I can say is, they know how to dance… and watching them live is the most entertaining thing I have ever seen. Once a new group did an impromptu concert outside my apartment building (waking me up from a nap I might add) and it was one of the most fantastic things I have seen here.

I will now leave you with a little taste of the amazingness that is K-Pop.

Just a few example as there really are so, so  many.

This song is two of the biggest pop groups coming together and advertising a cell phone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIRW_elc-rY

This song has been the hottest song since I have been here and I saw 2ne1 perform it live:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4MgAxMO1KD0&feature=fvst

One of the boys from Bigbang making a solo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIt6KCwlFPw

Signing off, 멜 로 디 (Mel-lo-di)

One thought on “Korean Pop! Also known as K-Pop! Also known as the greatest thing since… ELVIS. Okay, maybe they are completely different.

Leave a Reply

