Let’s Get Dirty

Before I moved to Korea I can vividly remember sitting at the kitchen table in my brother’s home talking to my sister-in-law, Darla, about what to expect from Asia. We decided right then and there that we needed to do a little research. What did we have to find out first? We needed to know about what kind of festivals South Korea had, obviously. The two I found that I was the MOST excited for are known as the Lantern Festival (which I missed out on because I had the swine flu, awesome. Good thing they had another one to celebrate Buddha’s b-day otherwise I might have died of sadness, or the swine flu) and the second festival happened to be this past weekend. What festival am I talking about? You know, don’t even tell me you DON’T know.

Every year, a west coast town called Boryeong hosts a mud festival to share their elite mud with the rest of Korea. And when I say elite, I mean it is full of minerals that are good for your skin… and Koreans like things that are good for your skin. They like it so much they made up a festival solely for the purpose of covering yourself from head to toe, in mud.

This is me NOT complaining. From huge blow up slides, obstacle courses, big mud wrestling pits, colored mud (who wouldn’t want red, yellow, blue, and green mud in their hair?)  to the Yellow Sea I was having the time of my life. I covered myself in mud, threw my dirty body down slides, swam in the sea and then repeated the process all over again.

of course it was sunny and dry the morning we had to leave

I took these two pictures the day (Sunday) I was leaving and able to carry my camera with me since I wasn’t jumping around in the mud and water. I did have a disposable camera on me  the day before (haven’t used one of those since the nineties), I don’t even know where to go to get it developed, hopefully I got some good pictures, we shall see.

mud, mud, mud, LET'S GET DIRTY.

The difference between foreigners in the mud, and Koreans. Here they sit, painting their faces and helping each other getting fully covered. Whereas the day before this pit was full of expats wrestling each other to the bottom of the mud pit and chucking their friends across their backs or putting them in choke holds.

Can’t wait for next year.

One thought on “Let’s Get Dirty

Leave a Reply

