the outfits

If you are an adjumma or ahjussi living in Korea and it is the weekend (or any day of the week really…) you are most likely doing one of three things:

Hiking

Biking

Golfing

Amongst these popular Korean pastimes I have noticed one MAIN THING they all have in common (besides ending in ING): the outfits. If you make the sad mistake of showing up to a mountain for a morning hike in your shorts and t-shirt while holding a water bottle that does not go with your get-up at all you can be sure that you will get stares/glares/looks of confusion as the Koreans think, “Where is this silly foreigner’s hiking outfit? Why doesn’t their shirt match their water bottle? Do they even have a color scheme?”

From head to toe Koreans dress for success in whatever activity they choose. From the helmets to the shoes, the clubs to the gloves, the backpack to the walking stick, Koreans show up prepared. They love outfits. They have style. They mean business.

I was thinking about this on my way home from work today because I saw several bikers (in full gear, obviously) and as I was admiring one man’s shiny (I like shiny things okay?) aeronautical looking helmet a thought popped into my head.

Koreans have the right idea. They pick an activity and commit, like really commit. They don’t just settle for the gloves when they head to the golf club, or wear the helmet and forego the biking shorts, or EVER leave home without their adjumma visor.

As a Christian my biggest activity is to walk with God, continue to practice my faith, and renew myself daily in understanding His love for me/ HOW MUCH He loves me (which I never will grasp fully but can still try!). When I leave the house do I always fully commit to this? Do I have my entire outfit set out and ready to put on? Where do I find this outfit? I think some of you know where I am going with this.

Yes. Koreans and their outfits reminded me of Ephesians 6, where it clearly describes what our outfit of choice should be. Helmet? Check. Shoes? Check. Belt? Check. Breastplate? (a bit harder to make stylish, but still a necessity) Check. Shield? (our outfits are serious, okay) Check. Sword? (no, not for Starcraft) Check.

Honestly, for maybe the first time I say: do as the koreans do! and I am NOT referring to spitting on the street (don’t do that). Put on your outfit, fully commit, wear those skin-tight biking body suits with pride.

Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes with the gospel of peace. In addition to this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Ephesians 6:14-17

 

I borrowed/took this picture from Mary Charles's fb album as I am very, very sad to admit that after living here for over a year, I have yet to go hiking. I don't even want to say that aloud... That must be wrong...

 

Leave a Reply

