“bear”feet

Instead of starting my Monday off teaching all the wisdom I have to offer (which I used to think was so, so much), I sat in class….learning? And today, as the roles were reversed, I sat as a student realizing how much I still need to learn. Teaching at a school where 90% of the student population are ELLs (English Langauge Learners…meaning their mother tongue is NOT English) is TOUGH.

Virginia Rojas (love you Gini!) swooped in and left our (the entire staff of APIS) heads spinning. After eight hours of learning, practicing, sharing, and learning some more I rushed downstairs to tweak my lesson plans for this week. I am a big fan of implementing. And truth be told a lot of us sat there thinking, “wow, we are doing NONE of that.”

Conviction.

To show Gini how cool we could be outside of school we (uh, that being APIS picked up the tab…saweeeet!) took her out to an all you can eat seafood buffet. During dinner the conversation turned to what, as teachers, we like to talk about most. CHILDREN.

One of my co-workers shared a most delightful story. His son had taken his shoes off in the car during a recent trip to the grocery store. “You have to put your shoes back on! You can’t go into the store with bare feet.” His mom told him. “But mom! I have kid-feet!” The boy replied.

As the table roared with laughter we realized that today in our workshop Virginia Rojas talked about Tier II words (you’d have to be there), words with multiple meanings. The example she gave involved her visiting a math class and how the teacher was instructing a pair of EALs (so many acronyms, EAL is now replacing ESL, English as a Second Language, to English as an Additional Language) to fill in the table. As the students kept picking up their paper and setting it back down on the table they were sitting at (trying to put the paper ‘in’ the table), they looked at him in a confused state. He just kept repeating, “the table, fill in the table!” The students were focused on the table they were sitting at while the teacher was inquiring them to fill out a math table. The same word, completely different meanings.

Just as my co-worker’s son thought his mom said “bear feet ” not knowing the meaning of “bare feet.”

I was going to put up a picture of my school for your visual viewing when my lovely friend/co-worker/soon-to-be-roommate stated, “Isn’t that dangerous in case you have a stalker?”

I would have a stalker.

No picture for this post.

Leave a Reply

