I love… I do not love…

I have a paper due tomorrow for grad class. And yet here I sit writing a blog post. It’s what I do.

I love the beginning of the school year. It gives me a chance to correct all of the mistakes I made at the beginning of last year.

I do not love the beginning of the school year. My second grade students are still in a first grader mindset, and they need to be retold everything a thousand times (oh wait, that never goes away).

I love the beginning of the school year. Being back with my colleagues, working on new and better unit and lesson plans, meeting new people.

I do not the love beginning of the school year. Being back with my colleagues from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. and still not getting everything done, creating curriculum and unit plans from scratch, watching my old students move on without me.

I love the beginning of the school year because I just plain love my job. I love doing what I do. It’s challenging, it’s rewarding, it’s…me! Even in the whining (oops), I find joy. I have to, it’s my middle name! (but really…)

Leave a Reply

