YOU WERE BORN TO BREAK BRICKS

As many of you may well know by now (because I can’t help but bring it up about every five minutes), I have officially earned my black belt in taekwondo. My journey started in April 2010 and ended (or brought on a new beginning as a black belt, as my master likes to think, hahaha!) last week on December 22nd.

I was absolutely terrified. Kathleen, who started the journey with me (and successfully received her yellow belt) has supported me the rest of the way, through cheering me on. When the day of the test came I texted her, almost positive about the fact that I wouldn’t be able to break the bricks… and if I didn’t break the bricks I would NOT receive my black belt. Kathleen’s response?

YOU WERE BORN TO BREAK BRICKS.

Amen, sister. And break them I did! I honestly cannot believe that I actually did it, I got my black belt. WOOT WOOT!

I broke 2, my friend Lim who was also testing for his black belt, broke the other two:

  

I wouldn’t recommend picking a fight. Yeah, I just broke two bricks. What’s next???

4 thoughts on “YOU WERE BORN TO BREAK BRICKS

  1. Anyunghashimika Melody, and congratulations! It’s only the beginning. Next up… cement blocks! Oh haha, just kidding. Don’t listen to me. 🙂 Nice blog and keep up the great work.

  2. Pingback: 30 Things I Did Before Turning 30 | spit on the street

Leave a Reply

