“I want to experience the speed again.”

I find the best writing my students produce is usually on their own time. Every weekend they come back to class with a journal full of their thoughts, and one of my favorite activities is to read about what they have to say. You might be thinking, “Really Melody, you teach eight-year-olds, is what they have to say really that interesting?” Well, the answer is YES!

Recently one of my student’s went skiing, and she wrote a journal entry about it. There was one line that really stood out to me:

“I want to experience the speed again.”

Come on now! Can’t you just picture her at the top of the hill, coming down, cold wind whipping her hair all around… a smile on her frozen face? All of that with one simple line: “I want to experience the speed again.”

Me too girl, me too.

Writing can change people… you know? So, write stuff down!

One thought on ““I want to experience the speed again.”

  1. That’s right! Not only is writing a powerful outlet for the writer but it’s also magical for the reader. In that one sentence, you were taken to the top of that mountain. Keep writing, Melody! You’re gifted girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

