thankful thursday <3

For several weeks now, I have started to implement Thankful Thursday into my weekly schedule with my students. We come back from lunch, sit on our soft comfy rug, and take turns choosing one person, and telling that person one thing we are thankful to them for. “I like your laugh.” “Thank-you for picking up my chair yesterday.” “Thank-you for playing soccer with me at recess.”

Surprisingly, this is extremely hard for my students, especially when it comes to boys and girls complimenting and thanking the opposite sex. Right now, every Thursday, it takes up our whole read aloud time for the day. And if you know me, you know that I LOVE READ ALOUD. It is actually my favorite lesson (and it is a lesson).

It is worth it though.  I wish I would have started it at the beginning of the year. It is forcing my students (and me) to look at their classmates/students and remember things they do that we appreciate. I don’t let them give outside appearance compliments, “I like your glasses”, etc. This activity is about finding the good things inside of each other, looking at the character of our neighbor, and being thankful for that.

What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “thankful thursday <3

  1. Just started reading your blog! I had to make one to comment! This is so inspiring. If everyone could have just a little more melody… How wonderful… Now I’m gonna cry… I miss you… Ahh crying now… You at by far one of the most wonderful people I have ever known. Thank you for being such a great friend. Love you.
    I probably look like a weirdo on my iPad bawling reading a blog. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh. Come home and give me fashion tips! You are ahead!

    • you are just the sweetest ever brittany! I knew you would love my blog once you discovered it^^ hope the little guy is good, can’t wait for this summer!!!

Leave a Reply

