Affirmation is Powerful

I started my blog to share my life with my family and friends back in Michigan, since I live thousands of miles away from them. But throughout this journey I have realized it is also an amazing journal, and a way for me to express my creativity through photography and words (I love stories!).

The following is a journal entry.

Dear New Philly Itaewon Welcoming Team,

Thank you for being inspiring, and creative. Thank you for helping me grow as a person, and as a son (yes, that may seem confusing to outside readers, what are you doing reading my journal anyway?!). Every single one of you encourages me to smile supernaturally, and welcome the crap out of people (okay… there has got to be a better expression).

Thank you for affirming me last Sunday. Just for my records I am writing your beautiful words here, so that I can come back to them over and over again, and remind myself of WHO I AM!

I am an ice cream cone, I have many flavors— and I am sweet! Did you know that my ice cream cone also doubles as a microphone? So I can sing out all my sweetness to the world, which I do ALL THE TIME.

I am a stamp, to give you more of a visual, this stamp is in the shape of a heart— and everyone I meet gets a stamp, I stamp the father’s heart. The verse that went along with this is Proverbs 31:20, She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.

I carry favor like a shield. I can be extremely vulnerable and genuine with people, with a lot of people… because of this favor.

I am a rock, rolling down a hill- I. Am. Unstoppable.                                                                      1 Corinthians 9:24-27: Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. No, Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

BRAVE. That’s me. Now think of the movie Braveheart. Now cover my face with dirt and picture me as Mel Gibson. I am a forerunner, I am brave. My love is genuine.            Romans 12:9 Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.

I am a clean spring, that always brings fresh water. My smile is genuine.

I am fearless, I cannot fail. I have a resilience to be admired. D.C. Talk has a song about the Proverbs 30 woman and a line from it says, “A woman who fears the Lord, she aint playing.” I need to listen to that song!

Affirmation is Powerful.

4 thoughts on “Affirmation is Powerful

  1. This is awesome! I love this one in particular: I am a rock, rolling down a hill- I. Am. Unstoppable
    Yes you are unstoppable~!! I’m thankful to be your friend!

Leave a Reply

