Why it’s Worth it.

Friday was the last day of school. And as most of you know, this meant my last day of work at my first full-time teaching job. My students from last year (who now have just graduated from 3rd grade!) knew that I was leaving the school, and once they got over their HUGE disappointment (obvi) they started to ask me random odd questions as the school year was coming to an end. “Chocolate or cheese, Ms. Welton? Do you like chocolate or cheese?” “Do you like sky blue?” “Are you free after school on Friday for a little bit?” Hmmmm… I was starting to get suspicious.

Then, as soon as I waved my final farewell to my second graders (after showing them this video that I am extremely proud of, I don’t normally put anything of my students up here as far as pictures and such— but they did sign a form, and this is SO SO SO GOOD) one of  my precious student from last year grabbed me and dragged me to the bathroom, telling me she had a secret to tell me and it was so secret we had to go to the bathroom (now I know where all the girls share their secrets)… She sat me down on a toilet seat and began to ask me what my e-mail address was, then she spelled it out, very s-l-o-w-l-y, even the “dot-g-m-a-i-l-dot-c-o-m”… it was hilarious. After she ran out of things to distract me with she said, “Oh– Ms. Welton you shouldn’t go to your classroom.” “Why is that?” “Uh… because there is a bomb! Ms. S put it there… no Ms. L (my grade teaching partner)”, “Ms. L, my partner in crime, put a bomb in my classroom?”

Just then there is a gasp and a laugh as Ms. L herself comes into the bathroom, “are you guys in a stall?” “Uh…yeah. Hey, Ms. L— did you put a bomb in my classroom?” “No way, come to your classroom and see for yourself.”

Ms. L and my student lead me to my classroom. I open the door and the first thing I see is a ton of balloons taped to my smartboard.  A cheesecake is on the table and there is… no one…? All of the sudden girls are jumping out from under my desk and the corner behind the bookshelf yelling, “Surprise!”

It had been so hectic when I said goodbye to my students earlier that I had no time to shed any tears. But once three of my girls from last year handed me a book they made full of pictures and letters to me, the tears flew steadily.

This is why I teach.

Slice of Life is hosted by The Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday!

10 thoughts on “Why it’s Worth it.

  1. Your video is so awesome! Such happy faces! A reflection of the obvious joy you brought to their lives! You had me in tears! I don’t know how could experience this without the crying. Best wishes for success continued joy and success where ever you land next…
    Amy

  2. i still can’t believe that you don’t live in my area of town~~ it was really weird yesterday when i had to go by the bike shop and realized you didn’t live right there anymore~~ i think it’ll take a little while before i’m used to this!

  3. Keep the treasures your students give you and the funny stories that accompanies them. You recorded this slice well, allowing your reader fully feel the emotions.

  4. I really enjoyed the video and seeing kids being kids actively involved in learning and play. You might be leaving but “heartprints” have been left and that is a priceless joy.

  5. How sweet! It all brought tears to my eyes. Goodbyes are so hard, but what a joy these students got from telling you how much they love you. Best to you in your new adventure.

  6. Oh my, this is so nice. I love that they said things like “don’t forget me”. I know you weren’t surprised they were doing something, but I hope these wonderful letters did surprise you & keep you remembering what a special teacher you are! Thank you for sharing!

  7. So glad you posted about this! This is sooo precious…love the scrap book & how she took you into the bathroom to distract you~

Leave a Reply

