putting it into practice immediately

After a crazy, Holy Spirit filled, weekend… I started my week off by putting into practice a few things I learned. As I said in my last post, there is no junior Holy Spirit. My students can hear from God, the same way I can. One of the speakers this weekend mentioned that he has heard of parents having their children practice listening to God on a daily basis, and one mother has a four-year-old daughter who is sitting quietly, listening to God for up to forty minutes a day. At FOUR.

On Monday, I explained to my students that we communicate to God through the Holy Spirit, and He talks to each of us, we just have to learn how to listen… and it might take practice. So, after read aloud, we turned the lights in the classroom off and laid on our rug. I set the timer for five minutes, and told them to think about God— and try to listen.

I will admit, five minutes after lunch in a dark room, it was hard for me to listen the whole time (and it was only five minutes!). I am so excited to get practice in this too. I heard God tell me that he loves each and every one of my students the same, and that I need to love them the same as well. He also told me to not go on facebook as much as I do (haha, got it God, I am reminded of Pastor Christian’s sermon, don’t let facebook rob you, and I am appropriately convicted).

Once the timer went off, the lights went back on, and my students sat up, I took turns asking each one if they heard from God. Several of them told me that they prayed, I told them that was good. Praying is talking to God, but after we pray, then it is important to listen. I mentioned that it was okay if they didn’t hear God right away, we would keep practicing.

Then, I got to my second to last student, “Did you hear God talk to you?” He nodded and gave a very confident, “Yes.”  I got pretty excited (obviously). “What did He say?”

“God told me that not only is preaching important, but praying and reading your Bible is also very important.”

My jaw almost hit the floor. I picked it back up and smiled, this was one of my kindergarten students, who actually can’t even read yet, telling me we need to pray and read as well as listen to the word being preached. That is definitely NO junior Holy Spirit.

Once we went around the whole room one of my first graders asked, “But, how can God speak to all of us at the same time?”

We have already talked about how God is omnipotent, omnipresent, and omniscient in chapel so I brought those words up again, and reminded them what they meant. I told them because he is God, he can speak to us all at the same time, and say different things.

And I can’t wait to hear what He speaks to us today!

2 thoughts on “putting it into practice immediately

  1. Wow. Just wow. What a powerful time. Melody, you’re so amazing & anointed, and I just love how you waste no time encouraging these kids to be all that God intended them to be. Wow….

  2. I LOVE this! It’s so amazing to see that there truly is NO junior Holy Spirit! You will be helping to raise up some mighty warriors for the kingdom of God Melody! Keep up the good work! You’re super!

Leave a Reply

