Koreanization Complete

My first year in Korea I fell in love with public transportation, particularly the subways. You can take a train almost anywhere in Seoul.

During my second year living in Korea I discovered buses, I had avoided them because I didn’t understand them. Once I understood them I realized that while subway trains can take you almost anywhere, buses can literally take you ANYWHERE.

My third year living in Korea I discovered taxis. I still try to rely heavily on buses and trains, but MAN taxis are so convenient, they are not that expensive— especially since you don’t have to tip. Plus I am becoming better at figuring out how to say where I need to go in Korean, so I am more comfortable jumping into a taxi (before I would have to make sure that a Korean friend was on speed dial).

After my first year in Korea I knew I had become Koreanized when I started bowing to everyone (including other expats).

After my second year I felt even more Koreanized because even when I went home to America I was bowing and handing everything over with two hands.

And now… after three years of living in Korea, I hit complete Koreanization. I was standing near a subway exit, waiting to meet a friend. My headphones were on, the music was blasting. A man comes up to me to hand me a flyer/pamphlet advertising free Korean classes, or bands playing, or something. I looked at him, smiled and said “It’s Okay” in Korean. He looked slightly confused and offered his pamphlet one more time. I insisted by shaking my head (still smiling) and holding my hand, palm facing him, while once again saying “It’s okay!” in Korean.

As he started to walk away I realized why he looked so confused. He was white.

2 thoughts on “Koreanization Complete

  1. Hahaha! This is awesome! I was going to say, “This is great!” but I noticed that my mom had said the same exact thing…scary sometimes! 🙂 Missing you friend…hope things are amazing!

Leave a Reply

