Apparently, I am Unusual

A surprise for most of you? Probably not. I am a fabulous one-of-a-kind person. BUT, I just recently found out that I am right-handed, and left eye dominant (in my research on Google over the past five minutes I have discovered that the abbreviation for this is RH/LE, I guess that makes sense). I was so confused during my eye examinations for LASEK surgery as to why the technician going through all the tests refused to believe certain answers I gave (especially when holding the black spoon-like thing against one eye, you know). He would ask “are you sure?” and “really???” and he had me second guessing myself, I mean they are my eyes-come on! But either due to the language barriers or my lack of curiosity I never investigated further.

Then, last Sunday, I had dinner with my former professors from grad school here in Korea. I took a picture of the food on the table (as I tend to do) and Dr. Brooks gave a, “Wow, that’s interesting” statement. She noticed that I looked through my view finder with my left eye. I didn’t understand why that was weird. See, I never knew that in the “usual” situation, your dominant hand is also your dominant eye. Being RH/LE therefore, makes me “unusual”.

Really?

COOL.

I like it. I also discovered during my five minutes of research on Google, this thread where this eye doctor noticed that a couple of patients he treated had interesting commonalities, they were both professional photographers and RH/LE. Nice, I’ll take that.

I was waiting for a friend to have dinner with this past week, she was stuck in traffic, so I walked around and had a mini shoot in alleys behind the Hamilton Hotel in Itaewon.

DSC_5189DSC_5180 DSC_5182 DSC_5198DSC_5196 DSC_5203 DSC_5206DSC_5207DSC_5216

And then I decided to go wait in the restaurant:

DSC_5221 DSC_5224

And then she came bearing gifts! Love this beautiful woman.

DSC_5232

2 thoughts on “Apparently, I am Unusual

Leave a Reply

