Breathing

I am finally breathing.

Well, okay— for the past three months I have technically been breathing. But it was the kind of breathing that gave no relief, like my chest was tight every time I took an intake of breath, and it grew tighter when I released said breath.

Many who read my blog know the reasoning for my inability to breath since the middle of June. For the rest of you, I shall tell you. It was due to the discovery of my lack of fingerprints. WHO DOESN’T HAVE FINGERPRINTS? Well, it turns out— some people don’t. So, I mean… I do, have fingerprints. They are just almost non-existent. Very low, very hard to see. This makes getting a background check SUPER DIFFICULT. The thing is, I never knew. I know, I know… How can you barely have fingerprints and NOT KNOW? Well, I didn’t. It’s not like I went around examining other people’s fingers to see what their fingers look like and compared them to mine. Okay, I actually do, do that now, it’s crazy how clear other people’s fingerprints are!

Since living in Korea I have had to get three FBI background checks to prove I am not a criminal in America (which is funny, since for the past four years I haven’t even lived in the USA, what if I am a criminal in Korea?). I have never had difficulty before. This time around my fingerprints got reject three times. I started the process in the Spring, maybe the beginning of May? Anyway, I got my first rejection mid-June, no problemo, I still had time to send in another set and get it back before my job started end of August. I got my second rejection the first week of August, okay BIG PROBLEMO, I no longer had time to get my visa before my job started. My third and last rejection came last week, first week of September. I called the FBI and broke down on the phone when they told me. For the past month I have had friends and relatives praying hardcore for my visa situation. Now, it looked impossible.

Then, a miracle happened. The lady on the phone at the FBI talked to me as if I was a real person. She took pity on me and threw a flag on the play. Sending in a request to the “special division” of the FBI (no idea what that means), she asked them to look into my prints. She asked them to see if there was another way to read them, explaining my low fingerprinting genetic disability (my mom has the same problem). Her name is Monica. Monica from the FBI became my new best friend.

The day after I talked to Monica I called again, she hadn’t heard back about her request, and she told me they may have already destroyed my prints. My faith grew stronger, I knew God would pull through now (when I didn’t trust before) because this really was impossible. I called the day after that. I had first talked to Monica on Tuesday, it was now Thursday. As I was on the phone with her, she got an e-mail saying they were looking into my situation. I woke up on Friday with an e-mail from the FBI saying my prints went through and my result was in the mail.

That season of not breathing, it made me stronger.

When am I going to learn that nothing,  not the government, or my financial situation, or my employment, nothing can stop God from fulfilling his plans?

Okay God, you got me. Again.

6 thoughts on “Breathing

  1. WOW! You see in movies gangsters burning off their finger prints to get away with mischief, but I had no idea people could be born without fingerprints, or difficult to see ones. I’m so glad you found people to help, Monica, and you can breathe again and stay longer here in Korea. ^^

  2. That’s incredible Mel! I am so happy to have that constant reminder that God is in control and with Him, anything is possible. Miss you and love you! xo

Leave a Reply

