Meeting Tina

Her skin is flawless… that was my first thought. And second… She is the most beautiful person I have ever seen.

I was sitting on the hard floor of a room meant to house five to seven girls with bed pads rolled out. To be honest I was a little bummed that my small group was the only all female group at the retreat.

Really, this is me being brutally honest. How was I going to meet my husband in a room full of girls?

My attitude changed within 15 minutes of our first small group session.

205576_10100152202821242_3644262_n

This group of girls dramatically changed my walked with God in that moment. Because of our openness we got so much more out of the retreat than we would have if we had not felt safe to share.

This is the first time I met Tina.

Tina opened up to us that she was sick. We empathize, we encouraged, we prayed. But we didn’t get it. How could we understand what it was like to be in pain every day?

That retreat was two and a half years ago. Since then spending moments with her. Short afternoons. Sparse dinner dates. It didn’t help me understand Tina’s pain. She was, is still the most beautiful person I know. But that beauty was not just on the outside anymore, it’s her inner spirit that is beautiful too… her faith.

The moment I almost understood, and I say almost because I can never truly, fully, “get” what she went through, was when I sat down with Tina at Eyagi. A coffee shop whose name in Korean means “Story”. This was when Tina let me interview her for re.write magazine.

I sat across from her and tears streamed down my face. Not the most professional interview I have ever done, I will admit.

I wrote a section of her story. And I cried. I wrote another section. And I cried. I reread the first section. And I cried.

Read her story from the link below (click on the picture!), or if you choose, scroll to the bottom and you can listen to it on podcast!

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 10.29.54 AM882329_599555230090262_217720825_o

2 thoughts on “Meeting Tina

Leave a Reply

