New Year’s Resolutions 2014

DSC_2089

Picture: I rang in the New Year with my Dad, Amie (sister), and Jordan (brother). My mom fell asleep at 11, she almost made it!

I have never been a fan of “New Year’s Resolutions.” And not because I was someone who made them and then could never keep them.

I refused to like the color pink growing up because everyone said pink is a “girl’s color” and since girls are supposed to like the color pink, I decided that I didn’t like it. I am not exactly sure where this mindset came from, but I didn’t like to be put in a box and I didn’t like to do things because everyone else did them. The world did things one way and I liked to do things a different way.

Here’s the thing though, I really do like the color pink.

I didn’t want to make New Year’s Resolutions because everyone else made them.

Here’s the thing though, I really do like New Year’s Resolutions. So, last year, for the first time… I made one. I called it a goal because I was still trying to avoid the whole “resolution” label. But, call something by any other name and it is still that something (or however that quote goes). My goal was to be more creative. I made this goal after my cousin asked me to do Project Life 365. In 2013 I took a photo (well more than one photo, but I chose ONE photo) every day each day of the year. This was just the tipping point. Making it my goal to be more creative spilled into my faith and my work. I started writing for re.write magazine and discovered that as someone who doesn’t like boxes, I had put “creativity” in a box my whole life. I discovered that my blogging, my writing, this is creative too.

As I look back and reflect on 2013 I can tangibly see evidence of how I grew in my creativity. I want to be able to do the same thing for 2014. This time my goals, sorry, my resolutions, are more challenging. Which has me sitting here wringing my hands together nervously. But, ahhh shoot, here I go…

1. To blog at least once a week (I can’t believe it’s been over a MONTH since I last posted!)

2. Read at least one Christian book every month (and to look to mentors like my pastors and other ministry team leaders to recommend these books to me)

And I am terrified to put my last goal out there, even though it’s probably on 99.9% of people’s list because it’s you know, the ONE resolution that most people make and break…

3. Eat better AND exercise (eewwwww!!!)

I have friends who find a verse for them to meditate on for the year, and I can’t believe I have never done that because I love this idea. So this year I have a verse too! I  went to 1 Timothy to find it because I still have this overwhelming feeling of youth. At times I take pause and think about how I am a grown woman with a full-time job, I think about how teaching is my career, and I get a little bit terrified at the thought because I feel SO YOUNG.

I have always wanted to love people completely and totally the way Jesus loves. And to do so I must have a pure heart (pure motives) and a good conscience (stay accountable) and a sincere faith (unashamed of the Gospel!).

My Verse:

“The aim of our charge is love that issues from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.” 1 Timothy 1:5

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2014

  1. Great resolutions!!! Looking forward to reading more of your blog posts…and love it that you are going to exercise more!!! It helps if you have a specific exercise goal or exercise partner…. 🙂

    • Thanks Jee Young, yeah I have no idea how to start… since I dont have a gym near me or one at my school— I am gonna have to start…gulp…running. GAAAAHHH.

  2. This. is. awesome! I love your resolutions! Doesn’t it feel good, and scary at the same time, to make them?! Haha! I really like exercising at home with Leslie Sansone. She’s a power walker, and an encouraging one. You can find her all over You Tube. I’m proud of you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

