January: leadership axioms by Bill Hybels

You may recall that one of my new year’s resolutions was to read at least one Christian book every month this year. This is for myself. To grow as a person, a leader, a woman of faith. Anyway, I decided to blog about the books I read because I am only one month in and I have already learned so much. And by so much, I mean a TON. And by a ton I mean. A LOT.

Bill Hybels is the founding and senior pastor of Willow Creek Community Church in Illinois. He wrote a book full of leadership proverbs. Short, uniquely named axioms that are genius because you can say “hire tens”, “finish well”, or “know who’s driving” and I will remember what that axiom is about and hopefully already be in the process of applying it to the leadership roles I hold. As a leader in my church, in my classroom, and as the leader of my life these axioms are gold.

Here are three. One I can’t wait to put into action, one that I am already working on, and one that I want those around me to work on (haha, but really). I don’t actually write what they are, so read the book if you are curious.

Six-by-six executions. This axiom is Hybels explaining that making a list (and I love lists), prioritizing that list to your top six things, and making sure you get those six things done in six weeks is how to get things done in life. And I can’t say I disagree. I am excited to start this tool, and to deliberate disregard certain things to get the top six things done. I might even make weekly lists for the classroom and choose what is the most important to get done for the week. I can’t wait to see what I get accomplished.

Brain Breaks. As a teacher, this is something I have already taken professional development on and try to implement regularly in my classroom. But I love it so much, and I love that it is something that business men should implement in their meetings as well. Everyone needs brain breaks no matter how old you are!

Arrive Early or Not at All. I am time-oriented. This axiom is one that I already follow strictly (and by that I mean with very few exceptions). But the way Hybels worded this proverb made me understand why I feel the way I do when things start late or when people consistently arrive late. He explains that when you arrive late (especially as a leader) you make those following you, those who busted their butts (oh, how many times I have ran up subway stairs and on sidewalks) to get their on time, feel devalued. When you arrive on time you make those you lead feel affirmed. My time is important. I understand feeling devalued. And though this isn’t the case with me every time people are late, I have definitely felt devalued when it’s consistent and I am given excuses instead of a simple apology.

photo(6)

6 thoughts on “January: leadership axioms by Bill Hybels

  1. WoW! Sounds like a great book! I’ll be adding it to my list of must-reads! 🙂 I like the 6-by-6 executions…sounds like my kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

