The Stolen Snacks

It’s a Thursday and I slept in until 10:30. It was marvelous. In Asia we get to celebrate the New Year twice. This weekend being the second time (just in case you missed the first^^) with the Chinese New Year, also known as the Lunar New Year, also known as Solnal. Anything with several names is always worth celebrating.

To kick off the long weekend my female co-workers decided to get together for a Girl’s Night filled with pizza, nachos, salad, humus, cheese, brownies, water, wine, and laughter (I feel that the kind of food we ate is NOT an unnecessary detail, okay?). I soon learned that when you get a group of female teachers from two different international schools in a room talking, you wind up with a few things. Several loud conversations at once, someone sharing hilarious stories of a crazy girlfriend from back home, and… work stories.

The name of a student is mentioned and the mother that goes along with her. Katie takes a sip of her wine and recalls when she taught “Sally” and “Joan” last year, in the second grade.

Sally’s mom came to school complaining that Joan was stealing her daughter’s snack every day. Katie insisted that her daughter’s snack was not being stolen. Sally probably lost it or accidentally misplaced it… or something.

A few months past.

“Turns out Joan had been eating Sally’s snack for the past three months!” Katie exclaims. As the room erupts with laughter and “No she didn’t!”s Katie says that Joan would ask to go to the bathroom and then eat her classmate’s snacks from their lockers in the hallway. Picturing a little girl hunched over looking around and stuffing her face full of Cheetos or strawberries almost brought tears to my eyes.

“I can’t believe she did that for three months,” Jenni says. “The one time I ate one of my classmate’s snacks was in elementary school when I traded an apple for a wagon wheel* and was allergic to the cream so I broke out in hives all over my face. After that my mom told me she gave me fruit as my snack for a reason. I just thought she was mean.”

More laughter.

“I always wondered why Joan offered me her snack all the time,” Katie says, we all agreed that we love eating our students snacks when offered. “They were nice snacks too! Starbucks snacks! Eight dollar snacks, every day. Why she thought she needed to steal and eat Sally’s strawberries is a mystery.”

*I had to ask what a wagon wheel was, some Canadian brand of a hostess snack. Aaahhh, story makes much more sense now!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

On Wednesday my school celebrated Hanbok Day. I really enjoyed wearing this traditional Korean gown, pictured above. Isn’t it beautiful?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And why not end this post with a few random animals and a tree made out of blocks? My kiddies are so creative!

One thought on “The Stolen Snacks

Leave a Reply

