Koreanisms: Gas, Squid, and Crabbers

There are times when I look around this world that I live in, and remember… that it is a very Korean one. I like it.

The other day I was waiting for the bus and I thought, “I really want some chocolate.” (I may or may not think that every five minutes.) I remembered there was a gas station immediately to my right and I turned towards it, thinking I was in America. SILLY ME. Korean gas stations don’t have little convenience stores attached for when you need to grab a snack (or subway sandwich) after you fill up the tank. Korean gas stations only give you gas. They have a MILLION family marts, GS 25s, and CU’s to supply your convenience store needs. I was just sad because it wasn’t a GS 25 on the corner… it was still a gas station.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There are a LOT of restaurants that I love in the city of Seoul. I just wish sometimes they would stop an expat on the street and ask them what they think of their restaurant’s name. I know we would be helpful.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

A couple of weeks ago I went to see Frozen on the big screen (and if you are not on the Frozen bandwagon then I don’t need to talk to you). I had no idea they sold squid as a movie snack so I HAD to get my picture with it… thinking, “My friends back home are gonna love this!”

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

THEN I turned around and saw this:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I was not to thrilled to sit next to Dyanne. Good thing she had popcorn too, it almost masked the smell. Almost.

6 thoughts on “Koreanisms: Gas, Squid, and Crabbers

  1. Squid in movie theaters is one thing I cannot enjoy. Oh the smell. Luckily though, most people eat it up in the first 20 minutes and it dissipates after that a bit.

Leave a Reply

