February: Confessions of a Reformission Rev. by Mark Driscoll

I made three new year’s resolutions this year. So far I haven’t blogged every week (oops), and I haven’t even started to think about exercising… and I have probably started eating worse (Kindergarten teachers NEED CHOCOLATE). BUT I HAVE, I have read a book each month that has some type of faith/spiritual theme to help me grow more in my “Christian walk” as we Jesus folks like to say.

I have been late blogging about it though—oops, again. My library (aka, Jason) lent me this book and I read it within three days, or something like that. The church in Seattle, Mars Hill, led by Mark Driscoll has always been on my radar, but I didn’t really know much about it. I have heard a few sermons by Pastor Mark Driscoll, and I always enjoyed his sense of humor and controversial preaching topics.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After reading this book I can understand the whispers I have heard of why this man of God rubs some people the wrong way. I get why people love him (me!), and I get why not everyone is his biggest fan (maybe, you?). The thing is, Jesus was offensive. What is that phrase I love? “Jesus offends the mind to get to the heart.” Yes, that’s the one. God needs people like Driscoll, a man with a strong back bone, who isn’t afraid to tell people how it is, whether or not how he thinks it is, is actually right or wrong. Someone who is willing to make mistakes and then learns from them, and in the process, has a whole lot of successes too.

His book is a story about perseverance and faith. He starts with church statistics and then breaks the book up in chapters by sharing what was happening when Mars Hills had 0-75* people in attendance, 75-150, 150-300, etc. eventually ending with the thousands of people who attend today, and the plan for adding thousands more. (*I forget the actual number markers of each chapter and I already gave the book back, but I think it’s close to that.)

Side note that is semi-relate to the book: my feelings on mega-churches have drastically changed since I was a young child, or whenever it was that I formed an opinion about big churches. I like you church, big or small, I like you.

We are living Acts 29. Let’s do this!

For the month of March I am going to read, “Become a Better You” by Joel Osteen, also on loan to me from my library, Jason!

2 thoughts on “February: Confessions of a Reformission Rev. by Mark Driscoll

  1. We just picked up his book Real Marriage. I’ll keep the one you read in mind if I like this one:)

    Love you!! Mama K

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

