March: Become a Better You by Joel Osteen

As I mentioned in my February book post, this month’s book was Become a Better You with a delightful smiling Joel Osteen on the front cover. It’s cheesy, and I love cheese.

I was warned that this book was long. I was told that this book might be hard to get through. I was also informed that this book is amazing. I found all three to be true. Joel Osteen is a man of examples, and giving situation after situation. After read the meat, and skimming through a few examples, I realized something. Out of all the people reading this book, one of those examples is going to set someone free. It might not be the first one, or the fifth, or the seventh. But ONE of them will. So, I say— write those examples Mr. Osteen, write away! I know how to skim.

One of my favorite quotes from the book, “The world does not need to hear another sermon nearly as much as it needs to see one.” Amen.

Another thing he says that really “set me free” so to say is, “Tremendous freedom results when you accept the fact that not everyone is going to like you.” WHOA. I really want everyone to like me, it’s just my personality. Writing that down makes me feel vulnerable, but there it is. And you know what? It’s not going to happen, and I need to accept it. Okay. I think I have accepted it. Maybe.

“Faith doesn’t instantly deliver you, but it always carries you through.” That Joel Osteen is a WISE MAN.

Summarizing this book is easy. To become a better you, you need to be better, and surround yourself with people who will build you up (aka, make you better!). And smile often. Okay, well that is what I got from it…

And to do that you need to “keep your eyes off of your problems and onto your God.” You also should not let “other people determine your potential” and “often, out of our greatest rejection comes our greatest rejection.” Because “what happened in the past is not nearly as important as what is in your future” and “your destiny is not determined by your critics.”

“We attract what we continually think about” so think about things that are true, things that are good, things that are pure, and righteous, and HAPPY.

Okay, I basically just strung a bunch of quotes from the book together, but it’s good right? Now I just need to apply it all (I am trying to smile more often, and it’s fun).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Any suggestions of what book I should read for the month of April (or May or June)? Sound off in the comments! Oh my, I have always wanted to say that.

2 thoughts on “March: Become a Better You by Joel Osteen

  1. Sorry to get hopes up of book recommendations but I was posting so that I would know what suggestions you get. I tried getting that book in the Madison Public Library and waited for it to arrive from another location through my hubby’s email. He didn’t tell me when it arrived. Then again, being so cheesy of a cover too…the Kindle version sounds tempting but the library is free. 😛

  2. I really liked the book, “The Name of Jesus” by Kenneth Hagin Jr. It really makes you think about the authority we have as Christians, in regards to the name of Jesus, of course. 🙂 Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

