April: Compelled by LOVE by Heidi Baker

“Today it is fashionable to talk about the poor. Unfortunately, it is not fashionable to talk with them.”

Mother Teresa

photo (4)

In Heidi Baker’s book, Compelled by Love, she shares a LOT of Mother Teresa quotes. Now, I have heard of Mother Teresa (I mean, in case you were wondering), but it wasn’t until reading this book— written someone who respected her very much, that I feel like I know more of who Mother Teresa was as a person. But that is just a side note… (I like side notes.)

Heidi Baker uses this book to talk about how God called her to love people. To love the poorest of the poor, the richest of the rich, and EVERYONE in between. But mostly, she loves those who have no material possessions, lack food, shelter, and people in their lives to tell them they have value. Her stories in this book blow my mind. The amount of times she has seen a small amount of food feed hundreds, thousands, more than it should is so COOL. The number of people who were blind and now see, who were deaf and now hear, who were DEAD, and are now alive— I mean, what?!

But what tugged on my heart string the hardest were the stories of the children, orphaned, who learned to find worth in themselves because someone reached out and loved them. Loved them through their diseases, their fleas, their fifth, their anger, their violence, their hopelessness.

Love is powerful. Love changes lives. Love changes whole countries.

I am not sure how this book came into my hands (Jee Young?), but I am glad that it was on my bookshelf.

3 thoughts on “April: Compelled by LOVE by Heidi Baker

  1. Sounds like a great book written by a wonderful person. I’ll be adding this to my books to read too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

