Paris in Four

Paris. After just one afternoon part of my heart belongs to this city. I could have spent days exploring each side street, stopping by each bakery, sitting on every bench on every corner, watching the people walk by. Instead, I hopped off the subway at the Notre Dame Cathedral and walked from there to the Louvre to the Eiffel Tower, to several parts in between. After four hours of intense architectural beauty I hopped back on the subway and headed back to the airport. My first stop on Summer 2014’s trip to Germany to visit The Delisio’s and Jenny was a success.

DSC_5998DSC_6002 DSC_6032 DSC_6030 DSC_6028  DSC_6027DSC_6035  DSC_6015 DSC_6008   DSC_6001 DSC_6039 DSC_6007    DSC_6059DSC_6054 DSC_6042 DSC_6060 DSC_6064 DSC_6062  DSC_6066 DSC_6069   DSC_6072 DSC_6075DSC_6085DSC_6077DSC_6091 DSC_6096  DSC_6100 DSC_6111DSC_6130 DSC_6131 DSC_6136

Several times before visiting Paris, I prayed. I asked God to put Parisians in my path that would be kind and helpful. I was nervous of getting lost during my short time there and needing help and then getting rejected because I am from the States. As someone who travels frequently I know that you can’t judge a people group by one or two encounters… but I have heard so many stories of the French in particular who are not exactly fond of Americans (and I mean can you blame them entirely for feeling this way?).

I went to order my lunch from Paul (pictured above) and put on my best French accent as I read the name of the item I wanted. The vendor smiled and replied, “You would like the sandwich?” in perfect English. And then he handed me my order and said, “Have a lovely day.” I looked up and gave God a thumbs up.

On a whim I purchased those delicious berries in the last two pictures. I gave the wrong coins thinking the 5 cents was 50 because of the way the coin was designed (oops…) and the woman working the cash register went out of her way to explain to me which coin was which and smiled as she asked if I was eating these berries on the go.

Then, after exploring I needed help figuring out which subway lines to take to get back to the airport. I approached a lady working in the subway and she gave me a map and carefully plotted out my path for me.

3 for 3, thanks God. And French people. You guys are nice!

9 thoughts on “Paris in Four

Leave a Reply

